The Fort Worth Transportation Authority


Fort Worth’s Transportation Authority, FWTA, offers bus services in and around the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex. Additional services include the TRE, commuter programs, and MITS.

FWTA was created in 1983 as the Fort Worth Transportation Authority, a regional transportation authority of the State of Texas and is not an agency or department of any of its member cities.  It provides quality public transportation to meet the mobility needs of Tarrant County and the North Central Texas region. The T annually provides 9 million passenger trips on buses, vanpools and the Trinity Railway Express, which it jointly owns with Dallas Area Rapid Transit. The T is developing a commuter rail from downtown Fort Worth to DFW Airport planned to start up in 2017. The T is governed by a nine-member board of directors with eight appointed by the Fort Worth City Council and one by Tarrant County Commissioners Court.